A Native Responds

Six more years.  Back in 2006, when the brick-and-mortar Philosopher’s Stone was still a reality, it occurred to me that 2018 would be here sooner than anyone expected. I believed that the bookstore should begin building its antiquarian New Orleans and Louisiana collection in anticipation of that great occasion. Economics and Recession put an end to that plan. By 2010, finding myself “having little or no money in my purse, and nothing particular to interest me on the shores {of the Gulf Coast}, I thought I would . . .” invest my time, my academic skills, and my techie background in a new media production of materials cogent to 2018. The materials would take the form of a study of the 1718 Gulf Coast colony of Louisiana.

http://1718neworleans.com is now a reality in progress. Work continues and will continue for the foreseeable future. In the next few months, however, work will be distracted by Lawrence Powell’s “The Accidental City”. I have not read it yet, but that will soon be remedied. It’s previews and reviews show great promise. The fly in the ointment, though, is that it covers the exact same material that http://1718neworleans.com does. This blog is being posted on Monday, April 16, 2012, and I want it to stand as copyrighted proof that Prof. Powell’s and my work are contemporaneous with each other.

Contemporaneous, but with significant differences. “The Accidental City”, to which I anticipate with high expectations, is predicted to be the standard academic history of New Orleans’ first century. As such, it will only complement my website/pop history/cookbook of New Orleans’ first century. I do, however, make one claim that differentiates the good professor’s work from my efforts. While he went to Yale, I went to UNO and Loyola. While he researched the southern US and taught upper adolescents, I researched and lived Louisiana History, Louisiana/New Orleans culture, Louisiana/New Orleans cooking in my mama’s New Orleans’ kitchens (one at home and one in our family restaurant),my family history (native to Louisiana since 1758), and and taught younger adolescents, as a native Creole/Cajun historian, teacher, and scholar.

So, kudos to Prof. Powell, and I look forward to my new bibliographic entry. To the Professor and my followers, keep up with http://1718neworleans.com, and keep me posted and do not hesitate to contribute, criticize, condone, condemn, and complement it at will. There is no such thing as bad publicity.

1 Comment

Filed under Louisiana History, New Orleans Tercentennial, Uncategorized

One response to “A Native Responds

  1. I have some material for your New Orleans project. In the 1980s, I wrote the history and legends sections of The Insiders’ Guide to New Orleans. There was original research done, especially on the legends section that may be useful to you. There were tens of thousands of copies printed, so hopefully you can find one. During that same period, I researched and wrote an epic novel that projected New Orleans into the future, circa 2032. And although the country is reorganized and fragmented, New Orleans as an Open City survives with all its colorful traditions of cuisine, music, and gambling. You will recognize the locations from the refurbished Super Dome to the poker rooms in the Fairmont Hotel. The novel is titled GRID and it is available as a kindle book on Amazon. I wrote the book for and about New Orleanians. When Pat and I left the city, the City Council made us Honorary Citizens. Pat is a native, and we still have relative there. Good luck on your project.

Leave a Reply

